NEEDY STREAMER OVERDOSE

This has been on my backlog since forever and what better time to play than when my own mental health is on decline! Jokes apart, I’ve been real busy with work lately so it felt like an appropriate game to dive into since it shouldn’t take too long and I will likely be able to play in small bits

Plus, it’s been so long since I last played an actual game that wasn’t something like Yume 2kki, Stardew, New Pokemon Snap, Lethal Company, The Escapists 2 or PokeClicker… I almost forgot what an actual visual novel felt like

Main Story

First impressions and, tbh: I cannot fix her. I have known Ame for five minutes and I know beyond any shadow of doubt that she’s irreparable and WILL ruin me instead. Love her for that. Keep at it sweetie

Needy Streamer Overload is a game that has made its rounds in… very fitting circles given its core theme so I’ve seen a lot of it around ever since it released, so it’s kinda what I expected from the beginning except that I did not think we would have to manage her schedule and start over to get certain endings and etc

For my first playthrough I just decided I’d do whatever to blindly explore what the game would give me, well, who would have known? I got the ‘Fallen Angel’ ending cause I got greedy with views and did her fifth sexy stream… should have seen it coming tbh. Then there’s the ‘Nymphomania’ one that I got cause apparently if you do the bed action too many times she just quits being a streamer… gurl please I just wanted to keep that strees bar DOWN

Anyways, after that, I kinda accidentally got the ignoring Ame ending, ‘Flatline’, cause I always forget to answer her messages after streams lol. But it’s okay, I’m aiming to get those 1 million subs, nothing can go wrong in my pursuit of that, right? Uhhhhhhh, yeah, she might have left me for another streamer bf since she got an offer at a streamer house AND THEN she went crazy on him… girl can you please not. So that’s ‘Nerdy Girl Overload’.

So, the fix is to raise our affection bar, right? Uhhhhh, yeah, we got a new home and a puppy and everything seems perfect… but one of her twitter alts says the contrary: this normalcy isn’t really what she wants, and we get hit with the ‘(Un)happy End World’… An ordinary happiness may not have been what she wished for.

But it’s okay! We can cut our internet to get a better ending…! Uh, or whatever that was, cause how are you even supposed to know how to get this ending normally? But welp, our beloved KAngel leaves the internet with a final selfie and: ‘Happy End World’

No matter, we just need to fuck this girl up to get every other ending now! Woohoo

First of all, let’s get her to be a normie by putting her mental darkness to 0… nothing too big, just ‘Normie Life’. Okay, alright, let’s go on the other deeper ends. What happens at 0 affection? Well, we get… quite literally ‘Cucked’ with a… horse streamer? Damn girl, I knew you weren’t faithful ever since the streamer house but come on

Alright, what about maxed affection meter? Well, she goes crazy and FILLS the screen with ‘I love you’, hm… maybe… maybe she can fix me… just saying… ‘Ground Control to Psychoelectric Angel’. She loves me, right?

Alright, so what about maxed stress? Apparently, it can go up to 120 and when you do… poor girl can’t take it anymore and deletes her socials. The ending is named ‘Bomber Girl’ so I sure hope she did not become a real bomb 😦 There’s also the breakdown streams for ‘Painful Future’ where she gets banned for smoking weed IN STREAM and tbh it goes hard, but I’m starting to feel bad for her

…Anyways! Next is the conspiracy streams for ‘Welcome to my Religion’ and… damn she sure ends up brainwashed with that much magic paper. She quite literally ends up seeing herself as an agent (angel) of God and proposes overpopulation as humanity’s problem… yeah she’s fucked up

It’s so extremely unsettling how taking magic paper opens a real life video of… random stuff like some stairs, a glass of water or a metro… so let’s take a lot of them to get the next ending, ‘Rainbow Girl’! UHHHHHHHHHHHHH….. I did not expect it to go THAT WAY with her becoming self-conscious of the divine… aka the player… AKA HER ACTUALLY SPEAKING TO ME. I swear I was 100% expecting her to drop my PC name just to scare the shit outta me but it was actually a sweet ending? But we also gotta say goodbye to her and fuck her up some more…

Now, onto ‘Internet Overload’! It has the same name as KAngel’s first song so I’m kinda intrigued and… holy shit? This actually turned out to be my favourite ending so far? I kinda felt like most of the previous endings were lacking impact or had a predictable execution, but this one? Oh boy I did not expect it to go that way, and I loved that it actually took a few days to develop and showed how Ame went slowly insane over the comments. This one focuses a little more on the dark side of cyber bullying and poor Ame even gets doxxed and it affects her already poor mental state in severe ways, with multiple streams of her completely breaking down until she… has a FIRE CG holding her old “dead” persona and embracing the KAngel persona fully. Damn, I REALLY like this ending, so creepy and nightmarish, please give me MORE endings like that

I cleaned up the ending for not getting enough subs to get monetized, ‘So Close yet so Far’ and… yeah, this is just a normal ass bad ending where she just leaves to go back with her parents since streaming didn’t work out. Kinda a letdown given that you actually have to try on purpose to get this ending since just a couple streams are enough to get over the number

Anyways, I’m gonna focus on the endings that require less than 500k followers now, and maybe I’ll get the netlore streams out of the way too. I like that there’s a literal Steins;Gate reference in one of them talking about time travel and how one of the superchats is just El Psy Kongroo lol. LMAO AND SHE PLAYS FIRE EMBLEM IN ONE OF THE SPONSORS TOO? On the way there, I also got the charcoal ending though the game does continue afterward which I didn’t expect

Okay so, first of all, I got the ‘Galactic Express’ ending which was actually a lot more specific than I expected in its conditions, but I also thought the hints that were given were pretty cool. You pretty much do all the netlore streams, get high as fuck and then go outside and ride a galactic train in the map. This ending overall is… kinda meta too. It has the same stream overlay as the one from Internet Overdose with KAngel killing Ame, but this time it’s much more soothing and even has a beautiful changing background of stars. Given how she keeps talking about God and being an internet angel in this one, I feel like getting high for her is actually gonna become some way to interact with the actual player behind the screen, given how the other endings related to drugs ended up with God, religion, angels and the player itself as main elements. Huh…

Anyways, now onto the ending with less than 500k subs and over 60 affection and mental darkness… and… huh? Is this like a yandere ending? Seeing her cut through the screen with that knife caught me off guard, and this one is… a title drop, ‘Needy Girl Overdose’. But hold on… you can actually get the questions right?? All it changes is that she gets overdosed on YOU with sex, huh…

Next there’s ‘There are No Angels’ which is quite fitting since… she didn’t have the wings to fly. With a lesser affection meter, she streams one final time and it’s implied to be her suicide. Knowing how this game goes, I’m actually surprised the suicide stream theme wasn’t touched upon until now

For ‘Labor is Evil’, we require less mental darkness for our poor girl, and this time she decides to get an actual job to cover expenses. Unfortunately, as expected, she ends up running away from this life and ditches P-chan. She’s so right though, labor is evil

The final one in this set is ‘Catastrophe’, which needs both affection and mental darkness to be low. In this one, we get blamed for Ame’s unsuccess and she leaves, blocking us on twitter and everything. Damn girl

I grinded some more subs for ‘Utopian Parody’ and… guess what? SHE BLOCKED ME AGAIN, MANNNNNNNNN, HOW MANY MORE NUMBERS DOES SHE WANT (I know how many more numbers she wants). I know this ending has another variation so I might check that out if I can

I decided to try out the 10M subscribers ending now and… damn, did KAngel just tell me go to face reality and touch some grass? I wasn’t sure how meta it tried to be, but I loved seeing all the new KAngel illustrations of her becoming the top streamer in the world. Too bad the internet just couldn’t take it… but she’s watching over me as an angel, right guys? ‘Internet Runaway Angel: Be Invoked…’

Only two endings left… and they are both locked under the 1M subs condition… Man, I could probably make use of my first playthrough for that but the affection and mental darkness conditions are too tight, so I might just try to use the 10M subs run. First, there’s ‘Do You Love Me’ which needs +80 affection and mental darkness with 1M subs and… it’s weird? We get KAngel doing a stream outside and… not really caring anymore about hiding P-chan’s existence from everyone, and then she makes one last stream at the ferris wheel with the dark interface from other endings. Be careful of overdosing on emotions, huh? But P-chan wasn’t really there at all…

One last ending. This is all that’s left between me and seeing this game’s true ending. Let’s go. This one is ‘Dark Angel’ and needs 120 stress, 1M subs and the last celebratory stream. Huh… she has gone full fallen angel, with a new dark dress and all. And she is PISSED THE FUCK OFF, she is gonna KILL SOME HATERS FR. I wouldn’t be surprised if she intends to assassinate the whole internet. And then… she streams again? Why is the chat surprised at this if she already did it yesterday? Oh shit, she showed her self-harm scars, this is getting creepy now. And… she pulls out a razor and a huge splatter of blood appears. Holy fuck, did WE die or did SHE kill herself on camera?

(Also I got the SMT ending at 5am, I almost shitted myself what the fuck, delete immediately)

Finale

So this is now the end, huh? A new save data file appears on the screen now, Data0, shall we see what awaits us here?

The game just pretty much plays itself, with Ame taking the decisions this time around instead of relying on P-chan. She makes herself a successful future and gets over 6M subs, so she doesn’t need us anymore. What is P-chan, really? We might finally get some light on it with… secret.txt

So… P-chan is just something she can summon at will like an imaginary entity huh? Has P-chan been a product of her imagination all along? Why does she want to make a new P-chan which she can marry after this? Who is the player and God then? It’s making my head hurt…

This really is it, huh? I’m gonna have so much fun revisiting the previous endings with this new piece of information. It kinda hurts that the ending leaves us all alone with the text document, to the point of only giving us the option to leave since there’s nothing else to do. We can’t… even go back to the start? Are we pretty much locked here forever? That’d go HARD AS FUCK in a meta way, but it seems other saves can be loaded (thank goodness cause I had to do the SMT ending yet)

Okay so… it’d fit why when she killed P-chan in a few of the endings, we actually saw a broken PC. Her chats were always with herself, and her decisions were ultimately her but through the conscience of an alternate “person” to cope. It just… becomes so incredibly saddening once you actually think about it. Most of her own downfall are brought by herself, and even those which appear bad at first like her getting a new boyfriend, end up badly due to the horse guy being a fucking asshole. And wait… my fav ending, ‘Internet Overdose’, takes a whole new light too… when she was going crazy over the doxxing and the messages seemed to have no sense: it was all because she could not make sense of her own head and ended up killing her Ame persona, who is likely to be the real “player” if we go down the schizophrenia path

There really is SO MUCH to think about this game and I love it. I feel like I’m at that rabbit hole where I can’t wait to read other people’s theories and thoughts on each part of the game. On the other hand, this game has also become like a bottle of water at 4am for those who see themselves in Ame and romantice her situation. You guys rock but god knows I’m not coming near an Ame or KAngel pfp in my life

Overall, my experience with Needy Streamer Overload has been, albeit unexpected and strange, fantastic. I really enjoyed the game and witnessing its crude representation of mental disorders such as borderline personality disorder. I can see why this game is both loved and frowned upon, specially taking on account how it has to touch upon very very delicate topics that are not easily handled or could end up distasteful if played for shock value. Personally, I think it does a good job at portraying raw emotions without sugarcoating anything, but also… I think we could have done with less but longer endings

I have to give props to the music too. It’s not even my jam and I still ended up finding myself vibing to it. I was honestly looking forward to listening to Internet Yamero on the game itself, but once I realised the date was after the game’s release, I supposed we were out of luck. Very happy that Internet Overdose made it in there though, what an unexpected banger both songs turned out to be. And they have KOTOKO in them too, who I really liked for Light My Fire already!!

I can not fix her. She probably has made me worse, in fact. But Ame now has the power to choose for herself

🙏BLESS🙏

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started