Kirby: Triple Deluxe & Kirby: Canvas Curse

I LOVE KIRBY!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE KIRBY GAMES!!!!!!!! Ahem. After my recent Star Allies’ 100% and playing through Forgotten Land, I have been attacked with a massive NEED to play more Kirby games. I love Kirby, I just LOVE Kirby

It’s quite funny to see how I keep coming back to old Kirby games and end up even more hooked than before. They are just so much fun, and I absolutely adore how they are connected with each other through such an interesting lore. It just keeps getting better the more I know and learn

Kirby: Triple Deluxe

I had been looking forward to trying Triple Deluxe since the longest time and the moment has finally arrived! I had played Planet Robobot so many many years ago and it was the first Kirby game I ever decided to fully complete, so it’s like ending a cycle getting to finally play the first main Kirby 3DS game so much later

The main gimmick for this game is the Hypernova power, and its levels are quite fun. I like how it was implemented throughout the worlds and how it shined during the end segment, eating up literal HP bars lol

The collectables were fun to look for and there are a few of them that were pretty hard to spot, but I had lots of fun collecting all of them. The gears were the main ones, and they didn’t take much work, but some of the rare keychains sure were hard. It’s all worth it just to see that marvelous full collection of old Kirby sprites throughout its history of games. The level design was fun too

MASKED DEDEDE!!!!! Only god knows how obsessed I was with his theme years and years ago, when my Kirby experience went just as far as Planet Robobot and that’s it. His theme is FUCKING amazing and even after years and years of having listened to it, it still holds as an incredible boss fight and theme

FUCK, I got the chills with the final boss. I wasn’t aware Sectonia’s second phase would be the boss to carry the incredible Moonstruck Blossom theme and it fitted her SO much. That final boss was simply incredible, so much hype. And the final attack with Hypernova Kirby inhaling of all Sectonia, including health bar? Fuck, that was SO good, I love Triple Deluxe

I ended up liking Taranza and Queen Sectonia a lot more than I expected tbh. I thought they were going to be weak villains in terms of Kirby lore or depth but in the end I’m quite happy with how they turned out. Not to mention, I love the fact that Sectonia used to be just like Taranza and ended up like that accidentally because of Taranza’s Mirror gift, tragic

As for the extra content, well, Dededetour was… disappointing to say the least. I know Kirby games tend to repeat their levels during the post-game modes, but this one was just painful. I loved using Dedede though, I love this bastard and hammer is my favourite copy ability in all of Kirby so :). THOUGH, NO ONE HAD FUCKING TOLD ME HOW HYPE THIS MODE’S ENDING WAS?!?! I wasn’t expecting the Amazing Mirror from the GBA game to make a re-appearance, and even less that it would hold such significance in Sectonia’s character, villanization and downfall. AND OF COURSE, THEY BROUGHT A REVENGEFUL DARK META KNIGHT, THAT WAS THE CHERRY ON TOP AND OH MY GOD I LOVE THEM. I really should finish Kirby and The Amazing Mirror bro, I can’t believe how hype it would have been if I had even more context

As for the other smaller modes, Kirby Fighters was really fun but I didn’t like the fact I had to repeat the same stuff with the 10 different copy abilities… It didn’t take too long fortunately. As for Dedede’s Drum Dash, it was very fun and a bit hard to get used to at first! I really liked it though. It’s very curious how they always make little experiments in these modes and, in the case for both of these, ended up becoming full-fleshed games later on. Though I doubt I’ll play any of them soon

Finally, the last obstacle between me and final completion: The True Arena. Oh boy, oh hell. I was able to beat it during my second attempt, but you know the best part? I didn’t know Soul of Sectonia was a thing. So you can picture my face when I was SWEATING BUCKETS after defeating the first phases and then learning right after that: there is ANOTHER phase. It’s a Soul boss. And it has the attacks from other Soul bosses in Kirby games. And to make things worse, I was… TWO hits away of dying when the battle started. Holy fuck.

THANKFULLY for my mental sanity, I managed to defeat it while pretty much… one hit away from dying? However, overcoming that battle made the experience so much more satisfying, god I fucking love the True Arenas in Kirby games. I still think Sectonia being the one to consume the Hypernova fruits this time instead in comparison to the main game was raw as hell, I love the subversion of roles to make the arena even more intimidating

And with that… 100% completion of Kirby: Triple Deluxe is done! I had an absolute blast with this game, and it strengthens even more my love as a whole for Kirby. God I LOVE KIRBY

Kirby: Canvas Curse

Next in my list is the first DS Kirby game ever released! I remember a few friends in my childhood playing this one though I personally never had the chance to try it out for myself, so it’s quite a strange blast of nostalgia to finally try it out!

Overall, it’s a simple Kirby title that tried to experiment with the DS’ touch screen in order to show off what the console was capable of at the time. The gameplay loop, therefore, it’s tied to using only the stylus and it’s an unique new experience with my beloved pink ball. I must say I had a lot of fun getting through this game, but it didn’t catch me hard enough in order to make me really wanna play the “extra” content after the game’s ending. I wish I had the motivation to get all medals but… yeah, not worth it when I’d probably have to replay a lot of the levels of the main game and rainbow run

I really liked the subminigames after finishing a world though. If I’m not mistaken, the Dedede minigame is a callback to Gourmet Race, and the others are fun to play as well. The final boss was also fun, and I really liked Drawcia

I did not expect Drawcia to have a soul form though! And what’s most surprising, she pretty much is the blueprint for every Soul boss in later entries so that’s an incredible tradition that I had never expected to start in here! I don’t even have to go too far, I’m pretry sure Sectonia’s Soul is a the BIGGEST callback to Drawcia’s soul since they pretty much use the exact SAME movesets, while the other souls take a lot of similar attacks as well, such as Magolor, Marx or Chaos Eifilin

Anyways, end of the ramble here. I kinda wish I was playing the Kirby games in order, since I’d be able to catch a lot more references and little details in each game, but for some reason the world decided that I wanted to play them in the WORST order possible and I’m just skipping from one console to another. Thankfully, Kirby games are isolated experiences but I just LOVE how they are all connected in some way or another and how a lot of them reference or make huge callbacks to previous titles, so that’s one huge reason why I wish I was going in order

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started